The DuRant Legacy

That’s right. Sixteen presidents of the South Carolina Bar have received the DuRant Distinguished Public Service Award, an award that has a 32-year history of honoring legal giants in our state. Learn about our most recent winner, Harold W. Jacobs, and trace the award’s legacy back to its first winner below! To make a tribute gift of a past DuRant Award winner, download the Foundation’s donor form.

Left to right: Bev Carroll, Foundation President; Harold Jacobs; Jack Griffeth, Foundation Past President

Left to right: Bev Carroll, Foundation President; Harold Jacobs; Jack Griffeth, Foundation Immediate Past President

Harold W. Jacobs received the South Carolina Bar Foundation’s 2012 DuRant Distinguished Public Service Award for meritorious service to the law and community. This annual recognition is the most prestigious statewide award members of the South Carolina Bar can bestow on a fellow attorney. The award was presented during the Bar Convention’s plenary luncheon on January 25 at the Myrtle Beach Marriott Resort & Spa.

Jacobs is senior counsel at Nexsen Pruet with a practice primarily in litigation emphasizing the areas of aviation, products liability, antitrust and unfair trade practices. After earning his undergraduate degree from Clemson University and graduating from the United States Naval Academy, Jacobs completed his Juris Doctor at the University of South Carolina School of Law. The School of Law Alumni Foundation later honored him with the Compleat Lawyer Platinum Award, which is given to only three attorneys per section each year for outstanding professional and civic achievement.

Jacobs is a Fellow of the American Bar Foundation and participates as a member of the American Bar Association. Celebrated with multiple listings in Best Lawyers in America, Jacobs has also held leadership positions including president of the South Carolina Bar and South Carolina Defense Trial Attorneys’ Association, member of the American Judicature Society board of directors, chair of the South Carolina Supreme Court Commission on Character and Fitness and chair of the South Carolina Judicial Conference Committee on Judicial Reform.

In his community, Jacobs has served as senior warden on the vestry of St. Michael’s and All Angel’s Episcopal Church as well as a member of the South Carolina Higher Education Commission and Patriots’ Point Authority Commission.

The DuRant Legacy can be traced back to 1980 when the award was established. The names of Bar presidents who received the award have been bolded.

The DuRant Legacy
David W. Robinson, 1980
Walton J. McLeod Jr., 1981
Robert M. Figg Jr., 1982
Thomas H. Pope, 1983
J.D. Todd Jr., 1984
Hugh L. Willcox, 1985
C. Bruce Littlejohn, 1986
Heyward E. McDonald, 1987
Charles W. Knowlton, 1988
E.P. “Ted” Riley, 1989
Augustine T. Smythe, 1990
Harry M. Lightsey, 1991
Terrell L. Glenn, 1992
A. Frank Lever, 1993
Morris D. Rosen, 1994
Ellen Hines Smith, 1995
Claude M. Scarborough Jr., 1996
Julius W. McKay, 1997
A. Lee Chandler, 1998
I.S. Leevy Johnson, 1999
William L. Pope, 2000
H. Simmons Tate Jr., 2001
Joseph H. McGee, 2002
Alex M. Sanders Jr., 2003
Eugene N. “Nick” Zeigler Jr., 2004
Ernest A. Finney Jr., 2005
Leo H. Hill, 2005
Julian J. Nexsen, 2006
B. Henderson Johnson Jr., 2007
David L. Freeman, 2008
G. Dewey Oxner Jr., 2009
Richard W. Riley, 2010
David A. Merline, 2011
Harold W. Jacobs, 2012


What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s